Certification

Certification attests to the performance of a product, according to a reference system established with representatives from the industry and society. This voluntary process ensures consistent quality of certified products, particularly through the monitoring of manufacturing processes.

For industrial companies, certification is also a visible means of differentiating their products on the market, and is a driver of economic development. For specifiers and users, this sign of quality builds trust in a product's advantages, in response to targeted requirements.

An accredited certification organization, the CSTB is a key player in the certification of construction products and services, under various marks. It is accredited by AFNOR to issue the NF mark in 28 application areas. With the National Metrology and Test Laboratory (LNE), it also manages the ACERMI certification mark for insulation products. Finally, it has its own certification mark: QB, which has 26 application areas.

In addition to these certifications, the CSTB also offers classifications to help products highlight their performance and facilitate the choice and specification of the certified product, according to its use in a building (type of building, conditions of use, etc.). In 2017, the CSTB developed 10 classifications; it is pursuing this development so that most product families will have a dedicated classification. This decision-making tool boosts quality on the market, at a time when certification has become a crucial criterion to establish confidence.

Finally, together with its partners and subsidiaries, the CSTB is a major certifier of buildings, neighborhoods and skills in France and internationally.

These certification activities are accredited by the French accreditation committee (COFRAC).

Certifications issued by the CSTB

Certification

La certification permet d'attester de la performance d'un produit, selon un référentiel établi avec des représentants de la profession et de la société. Cette démarche volontaire garantit la constance de la qualité des produits certifiés, notamment via un suivi des process de fabrication.

La certification est aussi pour les industriels, un moyen visible de différencier leur offre sur le marché, et constitue un levier de développement économique. Pour les prescripteurs et les utilisateurs, ce signe de qualité vise à donner confiance dans les atouts d'un produit, en réponse à des besoins ciblés.

Organisme certificateur agréé, le CSTB est un acteur clé de la certification des produits et services de la construction sous différentes marques. Il est organisme mandaté par AFNOR pour délivrer la marque NF dans 28 applications. Avec le Laboratoire national de métrologie et d'essais (LNE), il gère par ailleurs la marque de certification ACERMI pour les produits isolants. Enfin il dispose de sa propre marque de certification : QB, qui compte 26 applications.

En accompagnement de ces certifications, le CSTB propose également des classements pour aider les produits à mettre en valeur leur performance et faciliter le choix et la prescription du produit certifié, selon son usage dans le bâtiment (type de bâtiment, conditions d'exploitations, etc.). En 2017, le CSTB a mis au point 10 classements ; il poursuit le développement de son offre pour que la plupart des familles de produits dispose d'un classement dédié. Le développement de cette aide au choix renforce la qualité sur le marché, à un moment où la certification est devenue un critère de confiance essentiel.

Avec ses partenaires et filiales, le CSTB développe enfin une activité de certification significative dans le domaine des ouvrages, des quartiers et des compétences, en France et à l'international.

Les activités de certification sont accréditées par le Comité français d'accréditation (COFRAC).

Les Certifications délivrées par le CSTB